fbpx

Peter Parley Schoolhouse

Contact Details

About

The Peter Parley School House, also known as the West Lane Schoolhouse or the Little Red Schoolhouse, reflects Ridgefield roots as a small colonial farming community. The Puritans originally built it in 1756 and the schoolhouse received its name from Samuel Goodrich, writer of the Peter Parley stories, who attended the school from 1799 to 1803. Today, visitors can step inside the schoolhouse and see period-appropriate desks, texts, workbooks, and other school memorabilia.

Facebooktwitterpinterestlinkedin
X
X